Follow the Ivy

 

Something reaches for me.

It calls me close.

It beckons me to come near.

To just see.

To just wander…

To wander away from what I know

To wander away from comfort.

To wonder if there’s more

Than what I’ve been living for.

More than music

More than dance

More than people

More than my own treasured thoughts.

It is a VINE.

It grows closer and closer

Like it’s pursuing me.

It does not let obstacles in the undergrowth hinder its movement.

It comes ever closer

Even in the midst of darkness and impediments

It will not be overcome.

I reach out…

To just touch it.

I let the palm of my hand barely grace it.

It isn’t delicate.

It then wraps itself about my fingers.

I instinctively increase my grip in return.

I don’t ever want to let go.

It then starts to move again-

Taking me with it.

I follow the vine as it carries me.

Then the darkness suddenly closes in.

I feel suffocation.

I feel like I am falling.

I tighten my grip around the vine.

I shut my eyes.

I could always rip my hand out.

This is getting scary.

I don’t know if I want to follow anymore.

The vine is leading me

Into the unknown.

But I realize that without the vine,

I’d be lost.

The darkness would CONSUME me.

I don’t SEE a way out.

So I just keep holding on.

Hoping.

There is beauty in surrender.

So I surrendered to the vine.

Not the darkness.

I open my eyes again.

There is light.

There is peace.

The sky is an azure blue.

It is CONSUMED by light from the sun.

My grip to the vine doesn’t loosen though.

This is my life line now.

I survived.

And now I thrive.

Am I in Heaven?

No.

This is life.

This is life in Christ.

For He is the Vine and I am but a branch.

I rely on Him for strength.

On my own,

I am nothing.

He leads me through the dark and into the light.

But yet

In the dark,

There is still light.

HE is the light.

And He SHINES.

In the dark,

His presence is declared brighter

Than I ever even knew.

He does not just lead us through-

He USES our darkness

Our ashes

Our pain

And our uncertainty

For beauty.

For purpose.

For good.

{God is so beautiful. He intertwines our hearts with the ivy of His perfection. He allows us to grow from His strength. All we must do is hold onto the source and we gain life…life that grows and grows. It spreads intentionally to every crevice. It doesn’t stop. And it won’t until the whole earth is intimately intertwined with the knowledge of His promises…an arm extended in grace…like ivy reaching for the hearts of all of humankind.}

~|| Follow the ivy.||~

2 thoughts on “Follow the Ivy

Leave a Reply

