When I Look into the Mirror

When I look into the mirror

and ask God to help me

be the girl

He made me to be,

He answers me.

I want to be the girl who loves,

not hates.

I want to be the girl whose kindness is genuine,

not driven by selfish motives.

I want to be the girl who smiles in joy,

not scowls in judgment.

I want to be the girl who keeps her chin

UP to the clouds

not DOWN

to the cracks in the pavement.

I want to be the girl who lives in hope,

not the one who drifts in doubt.

I want to be the girl who lends a hand,

not a cold shoulder.

I want to be the girl who believes

in beautiful things,

not the one who drops them all

for the sake of pretty lies

or the attention of selfish guys.

I want to be the girl who sees the world

with Heaven’s eyes.

I want to be the girl who searches for the goodness

in everything,

not just the brokenness.

 

But I also want to be the girl who knows that

she IS broken,

not the one who denies the truth.

I want to be the girl who knows WHO

puts the pieces together,

not the one who tries to do it all

by herself.

I want to be the girl that SEES brokenness

as a vessel

for redemption,

not worthlessness.

 

Because when I look in the mirror

and ask God to help me be

the girl He made me to be,

He answers me.

 

The girl staring back at me

IS broken.

But also:

REDEEMED. not shackled.

FOREVER LOVED. not temporary liked.

CHERISHED. not taken for granted.

CHOSEN. not forgotten.

HELD. not let go.

VALUABLE. not abandoned.

MADE. not by accident.

HIS. not the world’s. or a guy’s. or anyone’s.

I want to be the girl who surrenders.

I want to be the girl who trusts.

I want to be the girl who knows she’s beautiful.

I want to be the girl who gives her whole heart

to The One who designed it.

 

I want to be the girl who loves.

I want to be like Jesus.

Because

that’s the girl

He created me to be.

Leave a Reply

